Maintenance notice: These forum archives are read-only, and will be removed shortly. Please visit our forums at their new location, https://www.evilmadscientist.com/forums/.

IR electronic shooting gallery W/ Art Controller

Hello, I could use some help advise on a project im trying to realize. Im pretty new to the world of micro electronics but not a total novice. I Am wanting to build an electronic shooting gallery on a small scale, coin-op, built inside a trailer for mobility. Folks who build these for a living are not real ready to share info, but will sell ya the electronics for about 800% markup though. So my obsessive research led me to purchase the new ART CONTROLLER! I think it will fit the bill for controlling "targets" animated actions by converting an IR signal into 12-24VDC for pneumatic solenoids (will that fit the bill for going low on the trigger part of this board)?, and possibly for the sound effects also.   I will need to link a ART CONTROLLER to power supply and coin-op system as well but was hoping to have a setup were you got a number of shots for your money rather than time...hmm..any thought on that? Targets may also have sound lasting longer than the DIP switched time on Controller for air valves..hmm, still need a good way to focus IR from a "gun" to target,and not have all my targets go off when someone hits their car remote..GEEZ i got a bunch to figure out!!! But anyway..thats an over view on my fun little project, anxious to get that cool little controller and start the build..but were to go from here? All advise from many angles are welcome.

Comments

• I'm not entirely sure how to answer your question.  There are any number of types of IR receivers and sensors, and many of them do produce an appropriate signal that can trigger the Art Controller.