Maintenance notice: These forum archives are read-only, and will be removed shortly. Please visit our forums at their new location, https://www.evilmadscientist.com/forums/.

Octolively and USBTinyISP

First - thanks for designing such awesome stuff!

I am working on programming my Octolively modules, and put together USBTinyISP to do so.  I have no experience with AVR programming, so this is all a bit new to me.

Following all of the various tutorials that are out there, I understand that I should be able to communicate with the Octolively with something like:

avrdude -c usbtiny -p m164p

But despite trying various things, I inevitably get the response:

avrdude: initialization failed, rc=-1
         Double check connections and try again, or use -F to override
         this check.

So - the question:  what's the 'right' way to connect the Octolively with a USBTinyISP?  I presumed that the on-board USBTinyISP 100 mA power was not enough to power an Octolively, so I have the USBTinyISP power jumper out, and the Octolively connected to power and turned on.  I presume that the 6-pin connector should be oriented with the red-wire side on the same side as the silkscreened arrow on J6.

The USBTinyISP seems to be responding correctly, with a valid USB connection (and green light), and when it attempts to communicate, I get some flashes on the red LED.  It's certainly possible that there's something wrong with my USBTinyISP, as this is the first attempt to do something with it, but it seems to be functioning and responding correctly.

...am I missing something?

Comments

• Unless I'm being daft, everything that you have described seems correct to me.  (And, thank you for describing the situation so clearly!)