Maintenance notice: These forum archives are read-only, and will be removed shortly. Please visit our forums at their new location, https://www.evilmadscientist.com/forums/.

Stipple Gen Source Code and Processing Time

JanJan
edited January 2013 in General
Hello,

I have some trouble running the source code. I installed processing-2.0b7 (linux64) together with the toxiclibs library. I tried all the releases from ControlP5 library. With the last three I get the error: With the three most recent versions I get the error: The method selecting(String, String) in the type PApplet is not applicable for the arguments (). With the others I get the error: cannot convert from void to button

I was wondering what version of processing and what releases of the libraries you have been using.

I want to run the source code to try stippling without blurring. Also I would like to see if I can speed it up. I am a newbie at processing but I'd like to give it a try. I thought of tuning the temp value of 200, but may be you have other suggestions where I could look for performance enhancements. I have to create a large file, probably 50000 stipples so time is an issue for me.

Comments

• StippleGen was tested under 2.0b6; I have not tested it under 2.0b7, and we do know that there are changes that affect the compatibility with some of our other sketches. 

For very large numbers of points, StippleGen is very slow.  Depending on your particular application, you may be able to speed things up by breaking the image into smaller chunks that you render independently, or by running StippleGen repeatedly, with a lower number of points in each test.

For a much bigger speedup, I'm afraid that the ToxicLibs voronoi routines are likely the holdup; using a computer vision software package, for example OpenCV (which can interface to processing) might be able to create a very large improvement.