Maintenance notice: These forum archives are read-only, and will be removed shortly. Please visit our forums at their new location, https://www.evilmadscientist.com/forums/.

Questions about assembling Alpha Clock Five

Hello,

After some time I have finally managed to sit down with my clock kit and make an attempt at putting it together. Full disclosure: I am not a tech expert by any means and am totally on a diy learning curve. Having said that, I have questions about this kit. Or in other words, could someone help me check my work? I have not successfully gotten it to display anything when it's plugged in and I don't know what's going on.

(I think they're transistors) - I soldered one of the three pronged "almost circle" things facing the wrong direction on the pcb. The flat part of the circle is not at the flat part of the line on the pcb. Will this cause the clock to not work?

I have parts left over and don't know what to do with them. The parts list is not accurate according to my pcb and the picture in the assembly instructions online show a different board than the one I have. (REV D) What should I do? Or, where do these parts go?

It looks like I'm missing parts. On the pcb next to the 24 pin chip socket (on the left) there's an empty 14 holes which looks like another chip is supposed to go there. I have a 24, 16, and 8 pin chip put in but there's a whole column of holes in the middle of the board for components that I don't have. Am I missing parts? It just seems like there's a lot of empty slots left.

Does it matter which direction the stripes on the resistors face when they're installed? I didn't think about this when soldering them in and they are not all facing the same direction.

Lastly (I think / hope) Where does the FTDI Friend chip go? I think I installed the part that goes where this is supposed to go but I'm not sure.